top of page

Day 12: Hiking Bukhansan National Park


After doing some research I decided to hike the trail which was closest to the train station. Trains are so convenient but sometimes it sucks because there is nowhere to sit when it is crowded. The more we got out of Seoul, the less people remained on the train. The train made a long stop over at one station and cleaning people came in to sweep the floors. I thought nothing of it until the train started moving and it was going backwards. I got off the train at the next station and hopped back onto the northbound train. This time it kept going the way it was supposed to go, I guess the train transfers at that station to a smaller number of trains since there is less people on it.

I also notice more hikers on the train and figured that I would just follow them as I'm sure they are going where I am. Once we arrived to our stop Dobongsan Station, we all get out and I follow them towards the tall peaks that stand out in front of us. I am amazed as I walk through a section full of outdoor shops and restaurants. They have all the major outdoor brand stores here as well as tons of street vendors. Being eager as always, I just settle with a snickers bar, cream filled bread and an espresso can to get me through the hike.

At the ranger station, the ranger recommends a trail and gives me an English map. It is rather warm today and I am not wearing long sleeves nor a hat so I douse myself in sun block. Luckily most of the trail is shaded except towards the top, and it gets rather confusing along the top as there is no defined trail...luckily there is enough people around to follow and soon find myself at the summit top. There is a short cable section which is pretty cool. I see another peak a little bit more down the way so I decide to check that out as well. This one has a slightly longer cable section which was fun...it involved actual climbing and using your hands to pull yourself up. After hanging out for a bit at the top I made my way down and ran into a pair of Russians who I kept company with for the way down...we talk about traveling and avoid the politics until he asks me what I think of Russia and it's president. I tell him government is the same everywhere, and besides our current president is just as crazy if not crazier than Putin at least in terms of twitter feeds. Daniel (I think was his name) tells me he is from Siberia and loves the outdoors, traveling to Baikal frequently.

Once down at the bottom we say our goodbyes and I do a little browsing at the shops, but decide not to get anything. There is a Red Face Store right next to a North Face Store which is quite hilarious as it is a total copy of the latter. Once on the train I head to Seoul Station and make contact with Tori and Sally. After stuffing myself with Paris Baguette and drinking cold brew coffee, I head over to the K Pop Motel right by Seoul Station. I chill with my mates one last time and we head out for our farewell dinner of Korean BBQ. Afterwards, we head to a fried chicken spot for 2nd dinner before finally bidding farewell.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page