top of page

THE CAPSULE HOTEL EXPERIENCE

My flight from LAX to Tokyo arrived in the evening and my connecting flight to Kyushu wasn't until the following morning. Since I've never stayed at a capsule hotel in Japan, I figured this was the perfect time to experience it. The capsule hotel is located near the Kamata JR station, which is also close to Haneda Airport. It is pretty cheap at $30 a night. The layout is like a dormitory where everything is shared by the occupants of that floor. They have a TV room, a bathroom, a shower room, and even a sauna. The capsule beds are essentially bunk beds but with a little more privacy from the outside. Outside the capsules there are two lockers where you can keep your belongings safe while you sleep. It was an experience and for the price I really can't complain, but I think once is enough.

bottom of page