top of page

FINAL BREAKDOWN OF THE WEIGHT

So I've been spending the past few days packing all the stuff I will need for the trip. I will be living the next two and half months of my life out of a bicycle, 4 pannier bags, a sleeping bag, and a tent. Times like this I can't help but notice how much unnecessary crap we carry around in our normal lives. You should try it sometimes, anyway enough preaching and back to the hard math. Here is the following breakdown of all the stuff I'm bringing with me.

Balance is pretty important when you're lugging around all this weight. I've managed to pack my rear panniers to around 11.5 lbs. each.

Right Rear:

This is my quick access rain gear bag, rain poncho, froggtoggs boot covers, boots, sandals, and at the bottom of the bag are the tools and spare tubes.

Left Rear:

To maintain balance I've had to put heavier items in this bag such as laptop, solar panel charger, external battery pack, mattress pad/pillow, fishing tackle/reel, camelbak bladder, butane igniter, cup, my main jacket.

Right Front:

I am keeping these a little open for food items I will be carrying with me in rural areas. Toiletries, pack towels, travel journal, folder with itinerary, compass, sunglasses, headlamp.

Left Front:

This will be mostly clothing stuff, gloves, face mask, top & bottom underlayers, four days worth of clothing: socks/undies/t-shirt, long & short cycling shirts , long & short cycling tights with the cushion bottoms, swimming trunks, one pair of presentable wear being a t-shirt and nice shorts.

Each of the front panniers will be around 7.5 lbs. when fully loaded.

On top of the rear rack, my tent, locks, and sleeping bag will be secured with a bungy cord. My fishing poles I plan to mount on the top tube horizontally. Weight of all this is 8 lbs.

TOTAL WEIGHT OF ALL MY ITEMS: 46 LBS.

bottom of page